LibGuides: Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) Major Catalogs about the Collection: Saidie A. May Collection

Catalogs Published by the Baltimore Museum of Art

Baltimore Museum of Art. A Century of Baltimore Collecting, 1840-1940: An Exhibition at the Baltimore Museum of Art, June 6 - September 1, 1941. [Baltimore, MD?], [1941]
With biographical sketches of some of the collectors.

Articles about the Saidie A. May Collection

“Saidie A. May Collection of Modern Paintings and Sculpture.” BMA News 13 (March 1950).
"Saidie A. May Collection." The Baltimore Museum of Art Record 3 (1972)
This catalogue begins with a short essay that provides biographical information about May and describes her collection in general (p. 9-17). A collection catalogue follows, divided into two sections, “Art of the Past” and “19th and 20th Century.” These sections are further divided by the nationality of the artist. The amount of information included for each item varies from simply the title, date, size and medium, to additional information about provenance, a bibliography, a list of exhibitions and a short description of the item. No index is provided, making it necessary to know the nationality and time period of the artist or item in question.

Related Resources

Adler, Susan Helen. Saidie May: Pioneer of Early 20th Century Collecting. [Baltimore, MD]: [publisher not identified], [2011], 2008.
"Saidie May is part of the large quilt that is the story of the American dream. It follows a German immigrant's rise to great wealth during the Industrial Revolution and then how is children gave back to the country which gave their father a new life and freedom. This story reveals how the role of the American female evolved during the early twentieth century from one of domesticity and servitude to leadership and philanthropy..."--Jacket flap
Zafran, Eric M. Impressionism to Surrealism from the Baltimore Museum of Art: Selections from the Collections of Claribel and Etta Cone, Saidie Adler May, and Blanche Adler: Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Hartford, February 8 - April 21, 2002. [Hartfor
Johnston, William R. The Taste of Maryland: Art Collecting in Maryland, 1830-1934. [Baltimore, MD]: [Collins Lithographing & Printing Co.], [1984]
In celebration of Maryland's 350th Anniversary and The Walters Art Gallery Golden Jubilee, marking the 50th Anniversary of its opening as a public museum, The Walters Art Gallery presents ... An exhibtion at The Walters Art Gallery, Baltimore, 18 May - 19 August, 1984... Collectors: Mendes Israel Cohen, The Cone Sisters, William H. Crim, James Teackle Dennis, Charles James Madison Eaton, Thomas Edmondson, Abram Eisenberg, Jacob Epstein, Thomas Footer, The Garrett Family, Robert Gilmor, Jr., John Franklin Goucher, Robert C. Hall, Johns Hopkins, Mary Frick Jacobs, J. Stricker Jenkins, The Lee Collection of "Needwood", Sadie A. May, John W. McCoy, James Howard McHenry, Henry Walters, William Thompson Walters.